Native American Studies: Home
A guide for a variety of Native American topics.
About
What is Native American Studies?
Native American Studies is an interdisciplinary field that examines topics of Indigenous history, culture, languages, politics, spirituality, literature, and more.
Why This LibGuide?
This LibGuide was compiled by library staff with suggestions from other librarians and the community of American Indian College. The goal of the LibGuide is to provide access to a wide variety of academic and practical resources that relate to Indigenous topics.
Suggest a Resource
This LibGuide is new, and there's so much more we'd like to see added to it! If there's something you'd like to see added to this LibGuide, please email aiclibrary@nelson.edu.
Library Resources
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowOver 70,000 titles spanning all subjects, curated for the educational experience.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowBiographical information for over 5,200 people across all areas of life.
- Civil Rights & Social Justice This link opens in a new windowPublications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more. Covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
- College in Context This link opens in a new windowA broad collection of resources covering all basic topics frequently encountered in college. Contains full text access to The Economist, The New York Times, and Newsweek.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
NEW CONTENT! Contains the Academic Complete, Health & Medicine, Reference, SciTech, and e-Libro eBook packages, over 400,000 titles.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of eBooks from all topics, including a specially-curated collection of Bible & Theology eBooks. Most eBooks in this platform must be viewed in a web browser and cannot be downloaded, with some exceptions.
- Diversity Studies OneFile This link opens in a new windowExplores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community
- Environmental Studies in Context This link opens in a new windowComprehensive information regarding topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more.
- National Archaeological Database (NADB) This link opens in a new windowNADB is network for the archeological and historic preservation. It was established to improve access to information on archeological activities nationwide.
- U.S. History OneFile This link opens in a new windowProvides resources related to the history of the United States.
- American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research: The Journal of the National CenterProvides research, program evaluations, case studies, unpublished dissertations, and other articles in the behavioral, social, and health sciences which clearly relate to the mental health status of American Indians and Alaska Natives.
- American Indian Law ReviewThe American Indian Law Review serves as a nationwide scholarly forum for the presentation and analysis of developments in the law concerning indigenous people and Indian affairs. Adhering to the traditional law review format, the American Indian Law Review offers in depth articles written by legal scholars, attorneys and other expert observers. In addition, law students write on a wide variety of issues in the rapidly expanding field of Indian law.
- American Indian QuarterlyA journal presenting interdisciplinary studies in anthropology, history, literature, and folklore for the academic audience.
- Indigenous Law JournalThis journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.
- The Indigenous Peoples' Journal of Law, Culture, and ResistanceIPJLCR publishes with the goal of bettering and advancing Native Nations and Indian People. Our Journal is here to actively resist against the insidious effects of colonialism, racism, and the subjugation of Native Peoples. We promote Native scholarship, both student and faculty, and support Native scholars and voices. We partner with Native communities to publish writings that will bring attention to their specific situations and legal battles. We discuss any and all legal struggles faced by Native Nations and Indian People and in so doing actively seek out publishable material from the traditional as well as the intellectual perspective.
- The International Indigenous Policy JournalIIPJ is a peer-reviewed, policy-relevant research journal addressing issues pertaining to Indigenous Peoples throughout the world.
- International Journal of Indigenous HealthThe International Journal of Indigenous Health (IJIH) was established to advance knowledge and understanding to improve Indigenous health. The Journal seeks to bring knowledge from diverse intellectual traditions together with a focus on culturally diverse Indigenous voices, methodologies and epistemology.
- Journal of American Indian EducationPublishes papers directly related to the education of American Indian/Alaska Natives.
- Journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies AssociationThis journal provides a dynamic intellectual space for the communication and dissemination of excellent scholarship related to Indigenous Studies.
- Native American Law ReportA monthly magazine focusing on jurisdictional issues surrounding Native American tribal, federal and state law. Provides information on trends in Native American law, analyzes judicial decisions, and provides detailed analysis of selected cases.
- Native American ReportA biweekly forum on Native American legal affairs for tribal officials, legislators, and others. Reports news of federal legislation, Bureau of Indian Affairs programs, sovereignty protection initiatives, funding allocations, and other issues from a variety of sources. Coverage includes the Bureau of Indian Affairs, tribe and state disputes, sovereignty, the Child Indian Welfare Act, environmental protection, and sacred sites.
- Studies in American Indian LiteraturesStudies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL) is the only journal in the United States that focuses exclusively on American Indian literatures broadly defined to include all written, spoken, and visual texts created by Native peoples. With a wide scope of scholars and creative contributors, this journal is on the cutting edge of activity in the field. SAIL publishes scholarly, critical pedagogical, and theoretical manuscripts focused on all aspects of American Indian literatures as well as works of poetry and short fiction, bibliographical essays, review essays, and interviews.
Print resources are available at Dorothy Cummings Library on the campus of SAGU American Indian College.
Browse in Person:
- The Native American Collection is located in the East Wing. These items can be checked out.
- Reference works on Native American topics are available in the Reference Collection in Central. These items cannot be checked out.
- Native Pentecostal News is available in the Periodical Collection in Central. This magazine cannot be checked out. Is it being digitized and will soon be available in this LibGuide.
- The vertical files are located in the East Wing. They house special documents related to Indigenous topics. They cannot be checked out. Click here for the vertical files catalog.
Browse Online:
- Search for what we have in print by visiting our online catalog here.
A portion of the library's Native American Collection.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsSearch free, full-access online journals.
- Google BooksSearch for books on any topic.
- Google ScholarSearch for academic articles and books.
- Vertical Files CatalogThis is the catalog of all items in the Dorothy Cummings vertical files.
Librarian at Nelson American Indian College
Keilah Villa
Contact:
Dorothy Cummings Memorial Library
Nelson American Indian College
10020 N. 15th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85021
Nelson American Indian College
10020 N. 15th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85021
(602) 944-3335 ext. 217 or ext. 252
Website