American Indian College: Archive
This archive is managed by staff at Dorothy Cummings Library at SAGU American Indian College. This archive is a work in progress. Check back regularly for more content!
Librarian at Nelson American Indian College
Keilah Villa
Contact:
Dorothy Cummings Memorial Library
Nelson American Indian College
10020 N. 15th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85021
Nelson American Indian College
10020 N. 15th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85021
(602) 944-3335 ext. 217 or ext. 252
Website
Our Archive
What’s in the library's archive?
The archive houses many exciting documents relating to the history of the college, such as Alta Washburn's original writings plus institutional documents, publications, and photos.
Where can I access the library’s physical archive?
Our physical archive is located on the bottom floor of the library. In this space, you can look through photo albums, flip through yearbooks, read original documents, and more! Students, employees, alumni, and friends are welcome to use the physical archive. Please handle with care!
What else do I need to know?
The archive is managed by staff at Dorothy Cummings Library. This archive is a work in progress. Check back regularly for more content. If you want to donate something, please contact us at aiclibrary@nelson.edu.
Check Out These Library Books!
-
American Indian College: A Witness to the Tribes by
Call Number: REF LD 1761 A4 S2 2008 / NAC LD 1761 A4 S2 2008ISBN: 9781605851679Publication Date: 2008"American Indian College: A Witness to the Tribes" is a celebration of the identity of what is now known as Nelson American Indian College. The library owns six copies of this book. Three are reference copies, and the other three are available for check-out. The book is also digitized on the page "American Indian College: A Witness to the Tribes." -
Trail to the Tribes
by
Call Number: REF BV 3269 W37 1990 / NAC BV 3269 W37 1990Publication Date: 1990"Trail to the Tribes" is Alta Washburn's memoir that describes her time ministering to Native Americans. The library owns three copies of this book. Two are reference copies and one is available for check-out to employees, alumni, and students. The book is also digitized on Alta Washburn's page. -
Indian Harvest: A History of American Indian Bible College
by
Call Number: REF BV 3269 B167 1989Publication Date: 1989"Indian Harvest" is a brief history of the American Indian Bible College and includes photos. The library owns two reference copies of this book. This book is also digitized on the "American Indian College: A Witness to the Tribes" page. -
A Trail of Beauty: A Short History of American Indian Bible College
by
Call Number: REF BV 3269 D86 1984Publication Date: 1984"A Trail of Beauty" gives the history of the school from 1957-1984 and its goals for the future. The library owns one reference copy of this book. It is digitized and available on the "American Indian College: A Witness to the Tribes" page.
-
40 Stories Behind the Story: An Introduction to the Bible
by
Call Number: BS 544 D35 / REF BS 544 D35ISBN: 9781935906469Publication Date: 2011"40 Stories Behind the Story" tells both new Christians and Bible students the story of the Bible in the words of this generation. Along the way, you will plunge into some of the questions that have been asked for centuries as people have struggled to comprehend God's word. What is the purpose of the Bible, and where did it come from, anyway? Isn't the Bible full of contradictions and confusing terms? I tried to read it, but after two pages I was out cold. Make it make sense to me! What page is smoking on in the Bible? If I hold "Revelation" up to the mirror, will I see the name of the antichrist? In Volume 1, Jim Demsey, a Bible "tour guide," introduces readers to the purpose and origin of the Bible, gives some tips in how to understand its story, and guides Bible "newbies" through the Old Testament. Along the way, he points out the way in which the many stories of the Bible flow together into the Big Story, the story of the rescue and redemption of the whole human race. -
A Paradigm for Renewal: Seven Pilot Studies for the Inculturation of Holy Communion at the American Indian College, Phoenix, Arizona
by
Call Number: REF BX 5149 G92 2006Publication Date: 2006The ongoing incarnational ministry of Christ has not always been fully incorporated culturally into the celebration of Holy Communion especially among Native Americans. This project consisted of seven pilot studies that are concerned with the development of an inculturational model for celebrating Holy Communion at the American Indian College in Phoenix, Arizona. The inclusion of different cultural traits and the use of a variety of styles in the celebration of Communion are presented as a means that can lead to a greater awareness to the presence of the Lord, which produces personal and corporate renewal in a community of believers. -
Leading the Pentecostal Worship Service
by
Call Number: REF BV 10.3 D43 2004Publication Date: 2004This dissertation centers on the church's effort to become an authentic worshipping community in the midst of cultural change.
-
Experiences Affecting Post-Freshman Retention of American Indian/Alaskan Native Students at a Bible College
by
Call Number: Ref E 97 S33Publication Date: 2000This study examined institutional choice and experiences that enhanced or precluded retention past the freshman year at American Indian College (AIC), a Bible college located in Phoenix, AZ. Click on the link to read the e-book. A physical copy is available in the on-campus archive. -
The Use of Ned Flanders' Interaction Analysis to Shape an Inductive Teaching Model for a Native American Classroom
by
Call Number: REF BS 600.2 B34 1995Publication Date: 1995The Bible is primarily an inductively natured book that might best be studied inductively by a people group who might learn best through inductive teaching methods, i.e., when they are respectfully encouraged to accept or reject the historical-grammatical truth they discover through a hands-on, culturally and life-related learning experience with the Bible. This project conducted with sixteen Native American Bible students attending American Indian College (Spring 1995 semester) documents the use of Ned Flanders' interaction analysis to shape an inductive Bible teaching model for a Native American classroom.
-
Native American Voices
by
Call Number: NAC E 77 R24 1994 / NAC E 77 R38 1994ISBN: 0801077737Publication Date: 1994The history of American "Indian," both past and present, has been encompassed by myth and caricature. Concentrating on the Native American nations of the "lower forty-eighty," "Native American Voices" surveys tribal groups, their life before the European conquerors arrived, religious encounters, current beliefs, and history of pain. Written to inform and challenge the average reader as well as the professional, this account goes beyond history to assess continuing justice issues and immense problems that face the Native American community today. The book presents research data and the need for a response. Say the authors: "Only a change of opinion and a clear insight by the majority of this land will end the debilitating prejudice that senselessly contributes to the Native Americans' modern history of pain." -
Readings in Native American Missions
by
Call Number: NAC BV 2350 D45Publication Date: 1992This book was designed primarily as reading material for students in AIC missions courses. Chapters are written by well-known names, such as Jo Ann Craver, Jim Dempsey, and David Moore.
-
"Listening to the Spiritual Voices of Others in Research" by Dr. Joseph SaggioThis article describes Dr. Saggio's spiritual methodology while compiling and editing "American Indian College: A Witness to the Tribes."
-
"Native American Christian Higher Education - Challenges and Opportunities for the 21st Century" by Dr. Joseph SaggioThis article briefly surveys the history of Christian higher education among Native Americans through the Colonial, Federal, and present-day Self-Determination period. The writer concludes this piece with contemporary challenges and opportunities for educators and practitioners involved with Native American Christian higher education in the twenty-first century.
-
"Persistence Among American Indians and Alaska Natives at a Bible College - The Importance of Family, Spirituality, and Validation" by Dr. Joseph SaggioResearch on American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) students indicates that only about 47% persist to complete their freshman year, meaning that one of out two students drops out before the sophomore year. Using a focus group methodology, the study reported in this paper examined the extent to which and out-of-class academic, social, and spiritual experiences are associated with persistence among AI/AN students at a Bible college. Family, spirituality, and validation were the most important influences on student persistence.
Flower Pentecostal Heritage Center
The Flower Pentecostal Heritage Center (FPHC) is the largest Pentecostal archives in the world. Located in the National Office of the Assemblies of God, USA, the FPHC collects printed materials, oral histories, artifacts, photographs, and memorabilia documenting the Assemblies of God and the broader Pentecostal and charismatic movements, spanning the globe. The FPHC has become an important hub for Pentecostal history and research, preserving and promoting Pentecostal testimonies and identity so that future generations can know the works of God. Countless church leaders, scholars, students, people in the pew, and other researchers have used its collections.
FPHC Website: Home Page
Search the FPHC digital archive
Sample Search Terms:
- Alta Washburn
- All Tribes Bible School
- American Indian Bible Institute
- American Indian Bible College
- American Indian College
- SAGU American Indian College
- Nelson American Indian College