Visit the Library: Visit the Library
Welcome!
Welcome to Dorothy Cummings Memorial Library! We are located in Phoenix, AZ at the American Indian College campus of Nelson University. We are happy to help you with anything you need related to the library, research, and resources. It's our job to help you find exactly what you need, so never hesitate to ask us for help. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and improve your time here on campus! - Nelson AIC Library Staff
Hours
Library Space
Central
Central is the collaborative (green) zone of the library. This is the perfect space for large group, small group, and individual study. Central contains the circulation desk, computers, printer/copier, librarian's office, stress busters, and restrooms. The archive, textbook, reference, great courses, periodical, and Authentic Christianity collections are located here.
East Wing
The East Wing is a low volume (yellow) zone of the library. This is the perfect space for small group or independent study. The East Wing contains all special collections, including Native American, Juvenile, Great Courses, Leisure Reading, and Authentic Christianity.
West Wing
The West Wing is a quiet (red) zone of the library. This is the perfect space for individual study. The West Wing contains the general collection, which includes books for all majors.
Study Room
This study room, located in the west wing, is available for independent, distraction-free study! Although it's available as a first-come, first-serve, you can also reserve the room up to two hours per day. Complete with its own markerboard, study table and chair, charging station, and lamp, this space provides an ideal study environment!
Upper Room
The Upper Room is the low volume (yellow) zone of the library. This is the perfect space for small group and individual study. The Upper Room is also the library instruction classroom.
The Library
The Alta Washburn Building was the first building constructed on this campus. The lower and upper floors of the central part of the building houses Dorothy Cummings Memorial Library.
Circulation Desk
The circulation desk is the place to go for assistance. Stop here when you need help finding a book, checking out materials, accessing online resources, and more. If a library member is not present at the desk, there will be a sign stating where they are at the moment. Ring the bell to get their attention.
Programming
The library holds a variety of programming each semester. These include:
- Book Club - read a chosen book and watch the movie with others
- Craft Days - relax and make some fun crafts
- Movie Days - watch a movie that repeats throughout the day
- Escape Rooms - challenge your mind by solving puzzles and riddles with your friends
- Mystery Puzzles - put together puzzles that don't match the image on the box
- National Pet Day - enjoy some cuddles with a furry friend
- Native American Heritage Month - read about and celebrate Indigenous heritage
- Banned Books Week - celebrate your right to read the most banned book (the Bible)
- National Library Week - celebrate the libraries that support you
Join us for these fun events and more! Don't miss out!
Find Your Space
Quiet Study Zone: East Wing & West Wing
Low Volume Zone: Upper Room
Collaboration Zone: Central