Freshman Orientation: Social Studies
Open Access Databases
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new windowThis free historical archive is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. This bibliography is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide, and is a valuable index for libraries, researchers and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. It was co-developed by John Alden and the Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library, Dennis Landis. This electronic index represents a wide range of topics, from the British/French/Dutch in America to natural disasters, religious orders, slavery and more. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846, is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities.
- Handbook of Texas Online This link opens in a new windowThe Handbook of Texas Online is a project of the Texas State Historical Association. The online Handbook offers a full-text searchable version of the complete text of the six-volume print edition, all corrections incorporated in the second printing, and approximately 400 articles not included in the print edition due to space limitations. Subsequent developments will include additional corrections and updates, new articles, illustrations, and audio-video media. The Handbook of Texas Online was officially released on February 15th, 1999.
Social Studies
- Archaeological Institute of AmericaAn introduction to the basics of archaeology
- Comprehensive Aramaic LexiconText database containing Aramaic texts in all dialects from the 9th century B.C. to the 13th century A.D.
- History ChannelIn addition to TV shows, The History Channel offers articles, stories, and topics for historical research.
- List of States' Digital LibrariesArranged by the state, this list provides links to digital libraries/archives focusing on the history of that state.
- Making of America Journals A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
- Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical SitesCovers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
- SoundTheology Religion Audio Archive This link opens in a new windowhe historical religion programs in this collection came from the archives, library shelves, and back rooms of many organizations. Faith groups represented include African Methodist Episcopal, Baptist, Episcopal, Lutheran, Mennonite, Methodist, Presbyterian, Quaker, Roman Catholic, Salvation Army, United Church of Christ, and others. AR-GCAH-LogoThis SoundTheology online archive is an independent service of Audio-Rescue.com, provided in conjunction with the United Methodist General Commission on Archives and History (GCAH). Many of these programs would have been lost forever if not saved in this project.
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States Census BureauAmerican statistical data from 1878 to 2012. Statistical Abstract data present here ranges from our most recent edition to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical abstract information available to the public. The display of data will continue as historical records become available.
Hours
Contact Information
Email (preferred): library@nelson.edu
Phone: (972) 825-4761