Freshman Orientation: Bible, Theology & Church Ministries
Open Access Databases
- Bible Commentaries Quick Search This link opens in a new windowCreated and maintained by Christian librarians, this custom search tool searches exclusively open access commentaries, Bibles, lexicons, dictionaries, encyclopedias, historical documents, pastoral/expositional commentaries, devotionals, and exegetical resources.
- Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL)OADTL collections are composed primarily of books and articles. The collections are ecumenical, global, and interreligious and include materials in all languages.
- Princeton Digital Commons This link opens in a new windowThe Theological Commons is a digital library of over 110,000 resources on theology and religion. It consists mainly of public domain books but also includes periodicals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscript collections, and other formats.
- SoundTheology Religion Audio Archive This link opens in a new windowhe historical religion programs in this collection came from the archives, library shelves, and back rooms of many organizations. Faith groups represented include African Methodist Episcopal, Baptist, Episcopal, Lutheran, Mennonite, Methodist, Presbyterian, Quaker, Roman Catholic, Salvation Army, United Church of Christ, and others. AR-GCAH-LogoThis SoundTheology online archive is an independent service of Audio-Rescue.com, provided in conjunction with the United Methodist General Commission on Archives and History (GCAH). Many of these programs would have been lost forever if not saved in this project.
- Theological Journals Search This link opens in a new windowCreated and maintained by Christian librarians, this custom Google search engine searches open access religious periodicals, many of which are not available in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). TJS searches 3,387 websites and 500-1000 journals.
Hours
Contact Information
Email (preferred): library@nelson.edu
Phone: (972) 825-4761
Bible, Theology, & Church Ministry
- ACL Bible College Section LibGuideThis guide is an on-going project of BCS and will introduce you to resources and research skills related to Biblical and Theological Studies.
The guide focuses on facilitating access to resources that are completely and freely available. - American Methodism ProjectFull-text materials dealing with American Methodism.
- Art in the Christian TraditionImages from Christian art from the 1st century to present day. The images are free to reuse for non-profit educational or religious purposes.
- The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)High-quality data on religion in the United States and abroad.
- Comprehensive Aramaic LexiconText database containing Aramaic texts in all dialects from the 9th century B.C. to the 13th century A.D.
- Hebrew BooksOver 15,000 PDF books in Hebrew.
- LSJ Greek-English LexiconEnglish definitions for Greek words.
- New Testament GatewayHosted by Logos Bible Software, this site offers academic resources on the New Testament and Christian origins.
- Old Testament GatewayA comprehensive, annotated, academic directory of internet sites on the Old Testament.
- On the WingAn educational and inspirational site for Christians, with a distinctly reformed flavor. Contains books and articles from the writings of Tyndale, Owen, Edwards, and more.
- Society of Biblical Literature Research ToolsTools for biblical scholarship.
- The Spurgeon ArchiveWritings and sermons by Charles Spurgeon.
- Text Creation Partnership: Early English Books Online (EEBO) Over 25,000 hand-transcribed texts of early books published in English.
- Wabash Center Internet Guide to ReligionWide variety of electronic resources for the study of religion.
- Wesleyan-Holiness Digital LibraryFree digital collection of books, literature, multimedia material, and archives in the Wesleyan-Holiness tradition.
