Books

Find Books

Click on the title or picture of each book to be taken to its catalog listing.

For print books, you'll be taken to OPALS, which is AIC's library catalog. Find the book on the shelf by looking at its call number. Any book that is from the Reference Collection or Textbook Collection cannot be taken from the library, so make sure you set aside library time. Don't be afraid to ask a librarian for help!

For eBooks, you'll be taken to Nelson Discovery. Access the book by clicking on "view eBook." You may need to login with your Nelson AIC Lionmail/Blackboard credentials before you can access it.

Course Textbooks

Grasping God's Word, Fourth Edition

"Grasping God's Word" has proven itself in classrooms around the world as an invaluable help to students who want to learn how to read, interpret, and apply the Bible for themselves. This book will equip you with a five-step Interpretive Journey that will help you make sense of any passage in the Bible.

NIV Study Bible, Fully Revised Edition, Hardcover, Red Letter, Comfort Print

The NIV Study Bible embodies the mission of the NIV translation to be an accurate, readable, and clear guide into Scripture. Top biblical scholars have pored over every note, every article, every chart, and every essay to refine this treasured resource.

Course Bibliography: Available Library Books

Holman Illustrated Bible Dictionary

Revised and expanded, this best-selling study tool is better than ever! It features 700 color photos, 80 color maps, a pronounciation guide, the latest archaeological excavation information, time lines, extensive cross-referencing, unique scale drawings, and much more.

Tyndale Bible Dictionary

Featuring over 1000 articles and over 200 pictures covering everything from the Aaronic priesthood to the Wilderness of Zin, it is the most comprehensive, up-to-date, single-volume Bible dictionary available.

New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology

This abridgment of Colin Brown's original four volume work is arranged with its entries in Greek alphabet order, which makes it easy to find the discussion of a particular word. All Greek words are transliterated into English and linked with their Goodrick/Kohlenberger numbers.

The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia

A comprehensive biblical reference includes a wide range of articles about people, places, customs, events, religious concepts, and philosophical ideas mentioned in the Scriptures.

Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible

Now thoroughly revised, this five-volume edition provides up-to-date entries based on the latest scholarship. Full-color pictures supplement the text, which includes new articles in addition to thorough updates and improvements of existing topics.

Encyclopedia of Bible Words

Entry words are taken from the NIV and the NASB—respectively, the best-selling contemporary translation and today's most literal word-for-word translation.

Strongest NIV Exhaustive Concordance

Only one New International Version concordance provides an exhaustive indexing of every appearance of every word in the NIV Bible: The Strongest NIV Exhaustive Concordance. It also offers complete access to the Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek from which the NIV was translated.

How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth [Fourth Edition]

Get the most out of your Bible. In clear, simple language, this book helps you accurately understand the different parts of the Bible--their meaning for ancient audiences and their implications for you today--so you can uncover the inexhaustible wealth of God's Word.

Models for Interpretation of Scripture

This work looks at the task of interpreting Scripture as "witnessing tradition", "authoritative canon", "inspired word", and "experienced revelation". Throughout, the author continually moves toward the interpreter's final task--communication to others of what has been gained in interpretation.

Living by the Book

"Living by the Book" will remove the barriers that keep Scripture from transforming your life. In a simple, step-by-step fashion, the authors explain how to glean truth from Scripture. It is practical, readable, and applicable.

Introduction to Biblical Interpretation

"Introduction to Biblical Interpretation," now in its third edition, is a classic hermeneutics textbook that sets forth concise, logical, and practical guidelines for discovering the truth in God's Word.

Invitation to Biblical Interpretation

An authoritative guide to accurately interpreting and applying God's Word. Köstenberger leads the reader step-by-step through the process of interpreting and applying God's Word. The primary principle is the hermeneutical triad, which consists of history, literature, and theology.

The Hermeneutical Spiral

Grant R. Osborne provides seminary students and working pastors with the full set of tools they need to move from sound exegesis to the development of biblical and systematic theologies and to the preparation of sound, biblical sermons.

How to Understand Your Bible

Norton Sterrett presents the general rules for reading the Bible's ordinary language and moves on to specific principles that apply to special types of language such as parables, figures of speech, Hebrew poetry and symbols.

Biblical Interpretation

Tate invites the reader to explore the potential of each of these methodologies, noting the tremendous contribution that each makes toward finding meaning. The world of the author and the world of the reader intersect in the world of the text to produce meaning.

Biblical Hermeneutics: A Treatise on the Interpretation of the Old and New Testament

This practical textbook is "the most exhaustive single work in our language on the history of the interpretation of the Scriptures." This ideal standard textbook abstains from dogmatism and adheres strictly to the method of scientific and conscientious inquiry.

Hermeneutics: An Introduction

After a thorough historical overview of hermeneutics, Thiselton moves into modern times with extensive analysis of scholarship from the mid-twentieth century, including liberation and feminist theologies, reader-response and reception theory, and postmodernism.

Bible Study Methods

Demonstrates twelve different methods for reading the Bible that will not only help you understand its words more fully but will also nudge you toward applying those words to your life more faithfully.

How to Read a Book

"How to Read a Book" is the best and most successful guide to reading comprehension for the general reader. This book is a rare phenomenon, a living classic that introduces and elucidates the various levels of reading and how to achieve them--from elementary reading, through systematic skimming and inspectional reading, to speed reading.

Unleashing God's Word in Youth Ministry

This book is designed to help you develop a Bible study approach that engages students on a deeper level---even if you're an avid curriculum user or someone who creates all your own discipleship materials from scratch.