History
A guide for Social Studies research at Southwestern Assemblies of God University in Waxahachie, Texas.
African American History
- Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938 Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of formerly enslaved persons.
- Internet archive: African American Literature Download free African American literature e-books from the past.
- The Project Gutenberg Wishlist: Black Writers in the Public Domain A brief comprehensive listing of African American Writers.
- Umbra Search: African American History Umbra Search African American History makes African American history more broadly accessible through a freely available widget and search tool, umbrasearch.org; digitization of African American materials across University of Minnesota collections; and support of students, educators, artists, and the public through residencies, workshops, and events locally and around the country.
American History
- Archives of Appalachia Over 300,000 digitized historical docuemtns exploring the diverse history and culture of southern Appalachia. Includes the Langston Heritage Group Collection featuring Black history.
- Documenting the American South (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill) Includes thematic collections of primary sources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture. Collections of interest for this course include "North American Slave Narratives," "First-Person Narratives of the American South," and "The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865."
- Exploring Chronicling America Newspapers Database Thousands of digitized newspapers available in an interactive map format or traditional database format.
- Gateway to Oklahoma History The Gateway is an online repository of Oklahoma history. Currently it contains many newspaper pages dating from the 1840s to the 1920s which can be viewed and searched. Other items will be added in the future.
- Making of America Journals A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
- MAYIS Indigenous Records Records related to the Chesapeake region's Indigenous Peoples.
- Mighty Eighth Air Force Collection Digitized materials documenting the Georgia-based Eight Air Force, who fought the air war on behalf of the United States against Nazi Germany in World War II.
- Minnesota's Historic Shipwrecks The cold fresh water of Minnesota's lakes and rivers have preserved an important part of our history - in shipwrecks! Each one is a unique and integral part of the fabric of America's maritime heritage. Together, they provide physical contact with and offer an exciting opportunity to explore the past. Because they represent a valuable but finite and nonrenewable resource, we must provide for their protection and preservation. If we don't, the first generation to have ready access to shipwrecks will be the last to enjoy them.
- NYC Landmark Preservation Photos High-resolution images of designated landmarks and historic districts.
- Selected Online Works by Civil War Era African American Women Links to the full text of works written by and about African American women who lived during the U.S. Civil War.
- SoundTheology Religion Audio Archive This link opens in a new window he historical religion programs in this collection came from the archives, library shelves, and back rooms of many organizations. Faith groups represented include African Methodist Episcopal, Baptist, Episcopal, Lutheran, Mennonite, Methodist, Presbyterian, Quaker, Roman Catholic, Salvation Army, United Church of Christ, and others. AR-GCAH-LogoThis SoundTheology online archive is an independent service of Audio-Rescue.com, provided in conjunction with the United Methodist General Commission on Archives and History (GCAH). Many of these programs would have been lost forever if not saved in this project.
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States Census Bureau American statistical data from 1878 to 2012. Statistical Abstract data present here ranges from our most recent edition to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical abstract information available to the public. The display of data will continue as historical records become available.
Archaeology
- Abstract of International Conservation Literature (AATA) AATA database contains abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. Also, includes subject-specific bibliographies .
- Abzu (Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives) Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.
- Archaeological Institute of America An introduction to the basics of archaeology
- Comparative Archaeology Database This link opens in a new window Comparative research in archaeology draw upon datasets from all parts of the world. These datasets document the material evidence of the human past and comprise the primary sources for archaeological research.
- Hieroglyphs Step by Step A tool for learning to read hieroglyphs.
- National Archaeological Database (NADB) This link opens in a new window NADB is network for the archeological and historic preservation. It was established to improve access to information on archeological activities nationwide.
- Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites Covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
- World Heritage List It gives information about World Heritage List, World Heritage in Danger, New Inscriptions Criteria, Tentative Lists, World Heritage List Nominations etc. also contains publications.
Medieval History & Geography
- DMMApp: Digitized Medieval Manuscripts AppThe DMMapp (Digitized Medieval Manuscripts app) links to more than 500 libraries in the world. Each one of these contains digitized medieval manuscripts that can be browsed for free.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexCovers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.
- Guide to Medieval Christian Spirituality This site contains both primary and secondary sources on Medieval Christian Spirituality, and is an excellent place to begin your research.
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & RenaissanceMiddle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources
- Labyrinth: Digital Resources for Medieval Studies A collection of digital resources for medieval studies organized by category, including Art, Armor, Crusades, Gender, Manuscripts, and many others. The site may be browsed by category or searched, and each link is accompanied by a brief description of its contents.
- Medieval ChurchAn internet resource for studying the church of the middle ages.
- MeMO: Medieval Memoria OnlineInventories and descriptions of objects and texts that had a function in the commemoration of the dead in the area that is currently the Netherlands, until 1580.
- MESA: Medieval Electronic Scholarly AllianceScholarly resources in medieval studies.
- Online Medieval Sources BibliographyDetailed information about modern editions - both in print and online - of medieval primary sources.
Texas History
- Portal to Texas History A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas.
- Texas Archival Resources Online TARO creates descriptions and finding aids to help libraries and patrons find archives, manuscripts, and museum collections in repositories worldwide made available to the public.
World History
- British History Online This site is an institutional repository providing access to printed primary and secondary sources, such as official records, maps, and journals, for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
- Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon Text database containing Aramaic texts in all dialects from the 9th century B.C. to the 13th century A.D.
- Europeana Contains over 600 Medieval manuscripts.
- History ChannelIn addition to TV shows, The History Channel offers articles, stories, and topics for historical research.
- Holocaust Survivor Interviews Digitized interviews with numerous Holocaust survivors provided by the Youngstown Area Jewish Federation.
- Southeast Asia Historical Maps Over 1,400 digitized maps of Southeast Asia from before the year 1900.
