History
A guide for Social Studies research at Southwestern Assemblies of God University in Waxahachie, Texas.
Newspapers
- News OneFile This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- Google Newspapers This link opens in a new window Digitized historical documents; some full-text; many free. For best use, check out ThoughtCo.'s helpful article: https://www.thoughtco.com/search-tips-for-google-news-archive-1422213
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Searchable digitized copies of historical newspapers from throughout the United States.
- Historical Newspapers: El Paso Herald/El Paso Times This link opens in a new window This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Research Tip: Searching Full-Text Newspapers
- Think like a journalist. What words would they use?
- Use the vocabulary in use at the time. (e.g., Negroes instead of African American)
- Combine synonyms with OR to increase results. (e.g., conservatives OR right-wing)
- Use the asterisk (*) to get multiple endings of a word. (e.g., integrat* for integrate, integration, integrating, etc.)
- To get words closer together, use proximity operators. (See the database's help page for correct syntax.)
- Limit your search to "abstract" or "citation and abstract" (if available) to get more precise results.
Credit: Williams Libraries. Used by Springshare with permission.
Other History Databases
- Civil Rights & Social Justice This link opens in a new window Publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more. Covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
- Contemporary Women's Issues OneFile This link opens in a new window Covers issues that influence women's lives across the globe, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
- Diversity Studies OneFile This link opens in a new window Explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window This free historical archive is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. This bibliography is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide, and is a valuable index for libraries, researchers and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. It was co-developed by John Alden and the Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library, Dennis Landis. This electronic index represents a wide range of topics, from the British/French/Dutch in America to natural disasters, religious orders, slavery and more. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846, is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities.
- Gender Studies OneFile This link opens in a new window Covers topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- Gun Regulation and Legislation in America This link opens in a new window Brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States.
- Handbook of Texas Online This link opens in a new window The Handbook of Texas Online is a project of the Texas State Historical Association. The online Handbook offers a full-text searchable version of the complete text of the six-volume print edition, all corrections incorporated in the second printing, and approximately 400 articles not included in the print edition due to space limitations. Subsequent developments will include additional corrections and updates, new articles, illustrations, and audio-video media. The Handbook of Texas Online was officially released on February 15th, 1999.
- Military and Intelligence OneFile This link opens in a new window Contains hand-selected content supporting key subject areas such as, governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
- National Archaeological Database (NADB) This link opens in a new window NADB is network for the archeological and historic preservation. It was established to improve access to information on archeological activities nationwide.
- Open Society Justice Initiative This link opens in a new window The Justice Initiative’s scholarship provides access to works published by the Justice Initiative in a fully searchable, image-based format.
- Pop Culture Studies OneFile This link opens in a new window This database both analyzes and contributes to popular culture. It offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
- South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowHistorical and contemporary primary sources in the arts, humanities and social sciences from and about South Asia.
- Texas Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970 This link opens in a new window A visual expression of history. Produced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.
- War and Terrorism OneFile This link opens in a new window Valuable insights into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This is the definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.
