English, Language Arts, Literature, & Linguistics
A guide for English, language arts, literature, and linguistics research at Southwestern Assemblies of God University in Waxahachie, Texas
Local Library Catalogs
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch to find books held in the Nelson library in Waxahachie, TX.
- DCML Catalog (Phoenix)Search to find books held in the Nelson American Indian College in Phoenix, AZ.
- Nicholas P. Sims Library Catalog Search the catalog of Waxahachie's public library.
- WorldCat DiscoverySelect the "Libraries Worldwide" box to find resources owned by other libraries.
- FirstSearch This link opens in a new windowExpert search tool for finding resources owned by libraries worldwide.
Literature
Whether you're looking for literature for your assignments or for fun, we've got your covered! We offer a growing collection of American, British, Children's, Young Adult, and Classic literature both in print and online.
- OverDrive This link opens in a new window
Use the "Notify Me" feature to let us know which books you'd like to read and we will try to add them! - Standard eBooks This link opens in a new windowPublic domain literature. All Standard eBooks have been updated with aesthetics and modern functionality in mind and are DRM-free.
- LitFinder This link opens in a new windowContains the full text of plays, short stories, speeches, and plays, along with biographies, work summaries, photographs, and glossaries.
- Open Library This link opens in a new windowA resource for full access to thousands of books online. Creating an account is free and simple!
- Open Source Shakespeare This link opens in a new window
Free online access to Shakespeare's complete works.
Selected eBooks
Children's Literature by ISBN: 9780748649075Publication Date: 2014Provides a thorough history of British and North American children's literature from the 17th century to the present day.
A Dictionary of European Anglicisms by
A Dictionary of European Anglicisms documents the spread of English in Europe. It provides the first exhaustive and up-to-date account of British and American English words that have been imported into the main languages of Europe.English, which imported thousands of words from French and Latin (mainly after 1066), is now by far the world's biggest lexical exporter, and the trade is growing as English continues to dominate various fields ranging from pop music to electronic communication. Several countries have monitored the inflow of anglicisms and some have tried to block it. But language, as lexicographers have always found and as this book demonstrates once more, respects neither boundary nor law. The dictionary notonly shows which words have been exported where, but how the process of importation can change a word's form and function, sometimes subtly, at others remarkably as in the transformation of painkiller to Bulgarian 'jack of all trades'.The book provides a systematic description of the lexical input of English into Icelandic, Norwegian, Dutch, German, Russian, Polish, Croatian, Bulgarian, French, Spanish, Italian, Romanian, Finnish, Hungarian, Albanian, and Greek. Each entry has a brief definition of the loan word, followed by information on its history and distribution; variations in its spelling, meaning, and pronunciation; its route of transmission if not direct from English; its degree of acceptance and usage restrictions;and its native equivalents and derivatives. Grids showing distribution patterns across Europe accompany many of the entries.The Dictionary of European Anglicisms is a scholarly tour de force [French: imported early nineteenth century] and the result of a prodigious research effort across Europe masterminded and directed by Manfred Gorlach. It is a unique resource for comparative analysis and the study of linguistic variation and change. It will fascinate linguists and word-watchers of all persuasions.
ISBN: 9780191536175Publication Date: 2001
Selected Print Books
Miss Myrtle Frag, the Grammar Nag by Call Number: 428.2 B155ISBN: 9781888842197Publication Date: 2000
The Oxford Handbook of Nineteenth-Century American Literature by Call Number: 808.9003 O984ISBN: 9780199730438Publication Date: 2012
Heath Anthology of American Literature by Call Number: 810.8 H437ISBN: 9780547204192Publication Date: 2008
American Literature and Culture, 1900-1960 by Call Number: 810.9 M135ISBN: 9781405101271Publication Date: 2006
Twentieth-Century American Poetry by Call Number: 811.509 M146ISBN: 9780631220268Publication Date: 2004
The Twentieth-Century American Fiction Handbook by Call Number: 813.509 M146ISBN: 9781405160230Publication Date: 2011
Literature, Gender and Politics in Britain During the War for America, 1770-1785 by Call Number: 820.9 J78ISBN: 9781107007895Publication Date: 2011
Contemporary Fiction and Christianity by Call Number: 823 T216ISBN: 9781441161758Publication Date: 2010
Dewey Decimal Classification Outline
- 808: Rhetoric and Collections of Literature
- 808.1: Rhetoric of poetry
- 808.2: Rhetoric of drama
- 808.3: Rhetoric of fiction
- 808.8: Literature collections and anthologies
- 809: Literary Criticism of more than two literatures
- 810-819: American Literature
- 810: American literature in general, history, anthologies
- 811: Poetry and authors
- 812: Drama and authors
- 813: Fiction and authors
- 814: Essays and authors
- 815: Speeches and orators
- 816: Letters and writers
- 817: Humor and satire and authors
- 818: Miscellaneous writings and authors
- 819: Young Adult Literature and authors
(some YAL will also be in the CL-N area)
- 820-829: English Literature
Includes Scottish and Irish literature and authors- 820: English literature in general, history, anthologies
- 821: Poetry and authors
- 822: Drama and authors
- 822.33 S527: Shakespeare
- 823: Fiction and authors
- 824: Essays and authors
- 825: Speeches and orators
- 826: Letters and writers
- 827: Humor and satire and authors
- 828: Miscellaneous writings and authors
- 829: Old English (Anglo-Saxon Literature)
- 829.3: Beowulf
- 829.3: Beowulf
- 830-899: World Literature