ENG2233 American Literature I
A resource guide for students enrolled in ENG2233 American Literature I at Southwestern Assemblies of God University in Waxahachie, Texas.
Collection Development Librarian
ENG2233 American Literature I Course Guide
Course Description
A survey of representative works from the foundational Colonial Period through the Civil War in the mid-19th century. Imaginative artistic works will be studied along with political and theological masterpieces in relation to the historical and cultural context of that time frame. (Prerequisite: ENG 1123).
This course meets the following English Language Arts—Middle or Secondary Education Teacher Standards: 1.5k, 2.2k, 2.10s, 4.1k, 4.1s, 4.2k, 4.2s, 4.3s, 4.4k, 4.4s, 4.5k, 4.5s, 4.6k, 4.6s, 6.8k.
Databases
American Literature Databases
- Early Americas Digital Archive The Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.
General Literature Databases
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
An integrated interface that searches all Gale literature databases.
Internet Resources
- Glossary of Literary Terms A list of literary terms; that is, those words used in discussion, classification, criticism, and analysis of poetry, novels, and picture books.
- HymnaryHymnary.org is an online hymn and worship music database for worship leaders, hymnologists, and amateur hymn lovers alike. At Hymnary.org you can search or browse hymns by title, tune, meter, key, scripture reference, and more.
Grammar & Writing Help
- OWL Purdue - GrammarThese OWL resources will help you use correct grammar in your writing. This area includes resources on grammar topics, such as count and noncount nouns, articles (a versus an), subject-verb agreement, and prepositions. Includes grammar exercises.
- OWL Purdue - WritingThese OWL resources will help you with the writing process: pre-writing (invention), developing research questions and outlines, composing thesis statements, and proofreading. While the writing process may be different for each person and for each particular assignment, the resources contained in this section follow the general work flow of pre-writing, organizing, and revising.