Alumni/Public Resources: Home
Resources freely available to Nelson University (formerly Southwestern Assemblies of God University) alumni and the general public (no University credentials required).
What Resources Can I Use?
Welcome to the Nelson Memorial Library's Public and Alumni Resources page! Resources on this page are freely available for public and alumni use, with no need for active student email credentials.
Persons not currently enrolled at a Nelson University campus have two ways to check out items at the Nelson Memorial Library: TexShare or ACL cards. TexShare cards can be obtained from almost any Texas library (like your local public library) free of charge. ACL Reciprocal Borrowing cards may be obtained from other libraries participating in the program. Community members may also contact Waxahachie's public library, the Nicholas P. Sims Library, about using their resources.
Libraries
- Find a Local Public Library in the U.S.In addition to loaning books and possibly borrowing books for you from other libraries, public libraries also license online databases and e-books. Your library card may allow remote access to these resources.
- Find a Nearby Academic Library in the U.S.Many academic libraries allow visitors to use their licensed databases on campus. Check the web site of the academic library you would like to visit for details.
- Find a Library Outside of the U.S.Connecting with any nearly library can help you navigate the information landscape wherever you are.
- WorldCatThe world's largest collection of information about resources. You can see what resources exist for your topic and what libraries own it.
Open Access eBooks
- BookBubFree and deeply discounted eBooks, both fiction and non-fiction. Selection of books changes frequently.
- Bubblin SuperbooksBubblin is a distraction-free book reader for the web. All Bubblin books download immediately when opened and can be read in your browser even without an internet connection. The online-native format allows enhancing the text beyond words only.
- Google BooksA resource for limited access to most books. No account required for access.
- Standard eBooks This link opens in a new windowPublic domain literature. All Standard eBooks have been updated with aesthetics and modern functionality in mind and are DRM-free.
Hours
Open Access Databases
- EBSCO EssentialsScholarly open access articles and books with bibliographical information for non-open access resources.
- BASEBASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
- CORE"The world's largest collection of open access research papers."
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Over 30 million images, texts, videos and sounds from across the United States.
- OAIster (OCLC)Millions of open access records. Resources also represented on WorldCat.org searches.
- Open Access Digital Theological Library This link opens in a new windowHigh-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
- PaperityMulti-disciplinary aggregator of Open Access journals and papers.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Open Access eJournals
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowDOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 50% of which comes from sponsors and 50% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
- The Free LibrarySubject-based links to freely available articles
- Google Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDigitized historical documents; some full-text; many free. For best use, check out ThoughtCo.'s helpful article: https://www.thoughtco.com/search-tips-for-google-news-archive-1422213
- Google ScholarAn easy-to-use resource to find journal articles from reliable, peer-reviewed resources in a number of areas of study.
- Science.govScience; Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.
- Semantic ScholarPeer-reviewed science resources.
Contact Information
Email (preferred): library@nelson.edu
Phone: (972) 825-4761
Kristy Teague
Kristy Teague
Contact:
Nelson Memorial Library
1200 Sycamore St.
Waxahachie, TX 75165
1200 Sycamore St.
Waxahachie, TX 75165
972-923-5479
Subjects: Accounting (ACC), Addictions Counseling, Behavioral Science & Community Services, Bible (BIB), Biblical & Theological Studies, Biology (BIO), Business, Business Sports Management (BSM), Chemistry (CHE), Children and Family Ministries (CFM), Christian Education (CED), Church Ministries (CMN), Church Ministry & Practical Theology, Church Planting and Revitalization (CPR), Communication Arts, Criminal Justice, Dissertations & Theses, Drama (DRA), Early Childhood Education (ECE), Education (EDU), Educational Development Plan (EDP), English, Language Arts, & Literature, General, General Education Studies (GES), Health & Nursing, History (HIS), Human Resource Management (HRM), Humanities (HUM), Information Literacy, Intercultural Studies, Journalism (JOU), Kinesiology (KIN), Leadership (LDR), Legal, Linguistics (LNG), Management (MGT), Management Information Systems (MIS), Marketing (MKT), Mathematics, Media (MED), Music, Music Ensemble (MUE), Pastoral Ministries (PMN), Philosophy (PHL), Physical Science (PHY), Reading (RDG), Religion, Science & Technology, Social Work (SWK), Sociology (SOC), Teacher Education, Texas History & Geography, Theology (THE), Writing (WRT), Youth and Student Ministries (YSM)
Schedule
Theses & Dissertations
- Asbury Theological Seminary DissertationsFull-text theses/dissertations available from Asbury Theological Seminary.
- DART - European E-theses Portal Open access research theses from 585 universities in 29 European countries.
- E-Theses Online Service (EThOS) Search over 350,000 doctoral theses from institutions of higher education in the UK. Part of the British Library.
- NDLTD (National Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations) This link opens in a new windowSearch the 4,919,954 electronic theses and dissertations contained in the NDLTD archive.
- OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center Browse full-text ETDs from over 30 participating colleges and universities in the state of Ohio.
- Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new windowOATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 4,030,539 theses and dissertations.
- Pan-Africa Theological Seminary (PAThS) PAThS has provided this search engine to give students access to online Theses and Dissertations in both English and French. These resources have been provided by hundreds of cooperating universities and academic institutions and are provided for educational research purposes. The search results provided may or may not be affiliated with PAThS or its organizational governance.
- PhdData The universal index of doctoral dissertations in progress, this sites is an open academic community in order to avoid duplications in doctoral dissertations. Contains only bibliographical information.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Open (PQDT Open) This link opens in a new windowWith PQDT Open, you can read the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.