Intercultural Studies
A guide for students enrolled in intercultural studies programs.
Director of Library Services
Kristy Teague
Contact:
Nelson Memorial Library
1200 Sycamore St.
Waxahachie, TX 75165
1200 Sycamore St.
Waxahachie, TX 75165
972-923-5479
Subjects: Accounting (ACC), Addictions Counseling, Behavioral Science & Community Services, Bible (BIB), Biblical & Theological Studies, Biology (BIO), Business, Business Sports Management (BSM), Chemistry (CHE), Children and Family Ministries (CFM), Christian Education (CED), Church Ministries (CMN), Church Ministry & Practical Theology, Church Planting and Revitalization (CPR), Communication Arts, Criminal Justice, Dissertations & Theses, Drama (DRA), Early Childhood Education (ECE), Education (EDU), Educational Development Plan (EDP), English, Language Arts, & Literature, General, General Education Studies (GES), Health & Nursing, History (HIS), Human Resource Management (HRM), Humanities (HUM), Information Literacy, Intercultural Studies, Journalism (JOU), Kinesiology (KIN), Leadership (LDR), Legal, Linguistics (LNG), Management (MGT), Management Information Systems (MIS), Marketing (MKT), Mathematics, Media (MED), Music, Music Ensemble (MUE), Pastoral Ministries (PMN), Philosophy (PHL), Physical Science (PHY), Reading (RDG), Religion, Science & Technology, Social Work (SWK), Sociology (SOC), Teacher Education, Texas History & Geography, Theology (THE), Writing (WRT), Youth and Student Ministries (YSM)
Subscription Databases
- Contemporary Women's Issues OneFile This link opens in a new windowCovers issues that influence women's lives across the globe, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
- Gender Studies OneFile This link opens in a new windowCovers topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- TREN TutorialTREN can be accessed 2 ways: either through WorldCat Discovery at nelson.edu/library, or through the TREN.com website. A password is provided on that page.
- Leadership and Management OneFile This link opens in a new window Covers topics such as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics and leadership, adult learning and continuing education, and more. Especially useful for professional career development.
- War and Terrorism OneFile This link opens in a new window Valuable insights into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This is the definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.
Journals
- Journal of Pentecostal Theology (JPS)ISSN: 0966-7369
Available from Brill (1992-present) and ATLA (1992-5 years ago).
Internet Resources
- The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)High-quality data on religion in the United States and abroad.
- Digital History of MissiologyThe Theology Library of Boston University presents a collection of missionary biographies, reports, sermons, and theologies.
- International Bulletin of Mission ResearchResources on missions history and analysis (all issues except most recent five years).
- International Journal of Frontier Missions ArchivesJournal Collection of Missions Experiences
- International Journal of Pentecostal MissiologyProvides Research and Investigation of Missiology from a Pentecostal perspective.
- International Society for Urban MissionA network exposing the issues urban poverty poses to Christian faith and missions.
- Live Dead BooksFree Downloadable Books.
- MisLinksList of missions resources
- Missionary eTexts ArchiveHistorical texts by, about, and for missionaries.
- Mission FrontiersArticles on a range of topics coming from well-known leaders in missiology.
- MundusGateway to missionary collections in the UK, including archived overseas missionary materials.
- Wabash Center Internet Guide to ReligionWide variety of electronic resources for the study of religion.
Books
Ministering Cross-Culturally by Call Number: 266.0013 L755ISBN: 9780801097478Publication Date: 2016-03-15
The Cultural Intelligence Difference by Call Number: 650.13 L784ISBN: 9780814417065Publication Date: 2011-05-30
Christian Mission in the Modern World by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780830844395Publication Date: 2015-12-05
General Research Databases
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowOver 70,000 titles spanning all subjects, curated for the educational experience.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowBiographical information for over 5,200 people across all areas of life.
- College in Context This link opens in a new windowA broad collection of resources covering all basic topics frequently encountered in college. Contains full text access to The Economist, The New York Times, and Newsweek.
- Checking Out & Downloading EBSCO eBooksDetailed instructions on how to check out and download EBSCO eBooks.