Mathematics
A guide to accessing available materials for mathematics majors at Southwestern Assemblies of God University in Waxahachie, Texas.
Collection Development Librarian
Top Databases
- Wolfram MathWorld This link opens in a new windowThe web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach.
- zbMATH This link opens in a new windowThe zbMATH formula search uses the MathWebSearch system, which is a content-based search engine for MathML formulae based on substitution tree indexing.
- Science in Context This link opens in a new window Science In Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science In Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
- SciTech Premium This link opens in a new window The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
What Can You Do with a Mathematics Degree?
Mathematicians conduct research to develop and understand mathematical principles. They also analyze data and apply mathematical techniques to help solve real-world problems. As problem solvers, mathematicians branch into a wide range of sectors:
| Accountant | Chartered Certified Accountant | Investment Analyst | Research Scientist (Maths) |
| Actuarial Analyst | Data Analyst | Logistician | School Teacher |
| Actuary | Financial Manager | Operations Research Analyst | Statistician |
| Bookkeeper | Financial Trader | Operational Researcher | Systems Developer |
| Chartered Accountant | Insurance Underwriter | Quantity Surveyor | Software Tester |