Behavioral Sciences & Community Services
A guide to psychology, counseling, social work, criminal justice, and human services resources available from Nelson Memorial Library in Waxahachie, Texas.
Additional Databases
These databases are listed in alphabetical order, not necessarily in order of preference. Please select your database by paying attention to the subject area covered by each database; remember: More than one database may be useful for your research!
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowOver 70,000 titles spanning all subjects, curated for the educational experience.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowBiographical information for over 5,200 people across all areas of life.
- College in Context This link opens in a new windowA broad collection of resources covering all basic topics frequently encountered in college. Contains full text access to The Economist, The New York Times, and Newsweek.
- Contemporary Women's Issues OneFile This link opens in a new windowCovers issues that influence women's lives across the globe, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
- Core This link opens in a new windowAn open access repository with over 2 million research papers and articles for researchers to use
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowDOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 50% of which comes from sponsors and 50% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
- Gender Studies OneFile This link opens in a new windowCovers topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- Informe Académico This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: Informe Académico provee acceso a más de 9.8 millones de artículos de carácter científico, académico y de interés general, provenientes de más de 1,000 publicaciones de 18 países. La mayor parte de este contenido ha sido arbitrado por expertos y se encuentra disponible en texto completo, libre de embargo, en español o portugués. Por su cobertura multidisciplinaria, Gale OneFile: Informe Académico abarca una amplia variedad de temas tales como política, historia, economía, ciencias de la salud, filosofía, ciencias exactas, tecnología y más.
- News OneFile This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- PubPsych This link opens in a new window Comprehensive and balanced selection of resources from a growing number of international databases with a European focus, covering the needs of academic and professional psychologists.
- Vocations and Careers OneFile This link opens in a new windowAids users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career.
