ENG2273 Introduction to Literature
A course guide for students enrolled in ENG2273 Introduction to Literature at Southwestern Assemblies of God University in Waxahachie, Texas.
Collection Development Librarian
Welcome
ENG2273 Introduction to Literature Course Guide
Course Description
A survey course of the major genres of literature, including short story, poetry, and drama. Designed to develop analytical reading skills and an appreciation for literature that reflects a range of diverse cultures. (Prerequisite: ENG 1123)
Books
Merchant of Venice by Call Number: 822.33 S527ISBN: 9780812035704Publication Date: 1985One copy
Databases
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
An integrated interface that searches all Gale literature databases.
- Twentieth-Century American Poetry This link opens in a new windowThis unparalleled collection includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
- Twentieth-Century English Poetry This link opens in a new windowA collection of more than 600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.
Internet Resources
- Glossary of Literary TermsA list of literary terms; that is, those words used in discussion, classification, criticism, and analysis of poetry, novels, and picture books.
Grammar & Writing Help
- OWL Purdue - GrammarThese OWL resources will help you use correct grammar in your writing. This area includes resources on grammar topics, such as count and noncount nouns, articles (a versus an), subject-verb agreement, and prepositions. Includes grammar exercises.
- OWL Purdue - WritingThese OWL resources will help you with the writing process: pre-writing (invention), developing research questions and outlines, composing thesis statements, and proofreading. While the writing process may be different for each person and for each particular assignment, the resources contained in this section follow the general work flow of pre-writing, organizing, and revising.