ENG1123 Composition & Rhetoric II
A resource guide for students enrolled in ENG1123 Composition & Rhetoric II at Southwestern Assemblies of God University in Waxahachie, Texas.
Collection Development Librarian
ENG1123 Composition & Rhetoric II Course Guide
Course Description
ENG1123 is a continuation of ENG1113. The research paper is discussed and composed. The rhetorical modes of argumentation and critical analysis are studied and practiced. Parallel readings of professional and student writers reflecting a multicultural diversity are required.
Textbooks
Writing Matters: a Handbook for Writing and Research (Comprehensive Edition with Exercises) by Call Number: (RSV GEORGE) 808.042 H8481 WISBN: 9781260860306Publication Date: 2022One copy, located in Reserve area near circulation desk.
The Last Christian by Call Number: 813.6 G822ISBN: 9781400074976Publication Date: 2010One copy
General Research Databases
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowOver 70,000 titles spanning all subjects, curated for the educational experience.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowBiographical information for over 5,200 people across all areas of life.
- College in Context This link opens in a new windowA broad collection of resources covering all basic topics frequently encountered in college. Contains full text access to The Economist, The New York Times, and Newsweek.
- Checking Out & Downloading EBSCO eBooksDetailed instructions on how to check out and download EBSCO eBooks.
Grammar & Writing Help
- OWL Purdue - GrammarThese OWL resources will help you use correct grammar in your writing. This area includes resources on grammar topics, such as count and noncount nouns, articles (a versus an), subject-verb agreement, and prepositions. Includes grammar exercises.
- OWL Purdue - WritingThese OWL resources will help you with the writing process: pre-writing (invention), developing research questions and outlines, composing thesis statements, and proofreading. While the writing process may be different for each person and for each particular assignment, the resources contained in this section follow the general work flow of pre-writing, organizing, and revising.