BIO1113 Biological Science
A course guide for students enrolled in BIO1113 Biological Science at Southwestern Assemblies of God University in Waxahachie, Texas.
Director of Library Services
Kristy Teague
Contact:
Nelson Memorial Library
1200 Sycamore St.
Waxahachie, TX 75165
1200 Sycamore St.
Waxahachie, TX 75165
972-923-5479
Subjects: Accounting (ACC), Addictions Counseling, Behavioral Science & Community Services, Bible (BIB), Biblical & Theological Studies, Biology (BIO), Business, Business Sports Management (BSM), Chemistry (CHE), Children and Family Ministries (CFM), Christian Education (CED), Church Ministries (CMN), Church Ministry & Practical Theology, Church Planting and Revitalization (CPR), Communication Arts, Criminal Justice, Dissertations & Theses, Drama (DRA), Early Childhood Education (ECE), Education (EDU), Educational Development Plan (EDP), English, Language Arts, & Literature, General, General Education Studies (GES), Health & Nursing, History (HIS), Human Resource Management (HRM), Humanities (HUM), Information Literacy, Intercultural Studies, Journalism (JOU), Kinesiology (KIN), Leadership (LDR), Legal, Linguistics (LNG), Management (MGT), Management Information Systems (MIS), Marketing (MKT), Mathematics, Media (MED), Music, Music Ensemble (MUE), Pastoral Ministries (PMN), Philosophy (PHL), Physical Science (PHY), Reading (RDG), Religion, Science & Technology, Social Work (SWK), Sociology (SOC), Teacher Education, Texas History & Geography, Theology (THE), Writing (WRT), Youth and Student Ministries (YSM)
BIO1113 Biology Course Guide
Biology:
The fundamental concepts of biology. An emphasis is on human biology including the organ systems. The place of people in their environment and the importance of their environment to them are both examined from a Biblical perspective.
Biology Lab:
Introduction to the tools and methods of the biologist. The student will learn to use the light microscope; how to identify, examine, and dissect selected lab specimens; how to use laboratory aids; and how to report results of laboratory observations.
Research Paper Databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials provides coverage dating back to 1908 with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the 19th century. Full-text journal articles and reviews are selected for inclusion by leading religion scholars.
- Health and Medicine OneFile This link opens in a new window Discover periodicals and reference book content supporting research in health studies.
- SciTech Premium This link opens in a new window The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Open Access Resources
- ScienceDirect Open Access JournalsScience, chemistry, biology, mathematics, engineering and technology, physics, medicine and more.
- Science.govScience; Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.