Library: Music: Home

Databases

Fine Arts OneFile This link opens in a new window
Millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Archive of Popular American Music This link opens in a new window
The UCLA Music Library's Archive of Popular American Music is a research collection covering the history of popular music in the United States from 1790 to the present. The collection is one of the largest in the country, numbering almost 450,000 pieces of sheet music, anthologies, and arrangements for band and orchestra. The collection also includes 62,500 recordings on disc, tape, and cylinder.
Historic American Sheet Music This link opens in a new window
This site is a repository containing musical scores from the special collections of Duke University library in Durham, North Carolina, USA. These cover items published between 1850-1920, and are represented as page images.
Pop Culture Studies OneFile This link opens in a new window
This database both analyzes and contributes to popular culture. It offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.

African Music Library The world's most comprehensive knowledge base for African music.
Art Song Central
more...less...
Archive of free vocal and choral music, as well as downloadable IPA transcriptions.
CCM Magazine
News and videos about Christian contemporary music.
Choral Net
Center for choral music.
Free Music Archive
Archive of royalty-free downloadable music for videos and background music.
Global Jukebox Music recordings and other performing arts from around the world. Requires creating a free account.
Hymnary
A comprehensive index of hymns and hymnals
List of Open-Access Music Journals
Musescore
Free download of the world's most popular notation software.
MusOpen
Archive of royalty free classical music for solo instruments and vocalists, and ensemble music.
Online Score Resources (Early Music America (EMA))
List of websites to access public domain scores across the internet.
Virtual Piano Keyboard Online
Free online keyboard.
WUSF Jazz 24/7 Jazz livestream.
Open Access Music Journals
Hosted by University of Michigan Library.

Glossary of Musical Terms
Nearly exhaustive list of musical terms.
Music Educators Toolbox
Carnegie Hall's set of free online resources for music teachers.
Music Theory for Musicians and Normal People
Free downloadable PDFs of educational music theory posters over a variety of concepts.
Songs for Teaching
Archive of songs as supplementary material for teaching a variety of lessons at an elementary level.

Music and Ministry by Calvin M. Johansson
Call Number: 780.7 J65
ISBN: 9781565633612
Publication Date: 1998
Worlds of Music: An Introduction to the Music of the World's Peoples by Jeff Todd Titon
Call Number: 780.89 W927
ISBN: 9781133953906
Publication Date: 2016
A Practical Approach to the Study of Form in Music by Peter Spencer; Peter M. Temko
Call Number: 781.5 S745
ISBN: 9780881338065
Publication Date: 1994
The Study of Orchestration by Samuel Adler
Call Number: 781.374 A237 - Reserve Section
ISBN: 9780393975727
Publication Date: 2002
A Survey of Christian Hymnody by David W. Music; Milburn Price
Call Number: 7833.9 R466
ISBN: 0916642674
Publication Date: 1987
Recommended by the Music Department Faculty

A Practical Approach to the Study of Form in Music by Peter Spencer; Peter M. Temko
Call Number: 781.5 S745
ISBN: 9780881338065
Publication Date: 1994
Music, Thought, and Feeling by William Forde Thompson
Call Number: 781.11 T478
ISBN: 9780199947317
Publication Date: 2014-02-28
Anthology for Musical Analysis by Charles Burkhart; William Rothstein
Call Number: R 781.17 A628
ISBN: 9780495916079
Publication Date: 2011-06-21
Beating Time and Measuring Music in the Early Modern Era by Roger Mathew Grant
Call Number: 781.2209 G762
ISBN: 9780199367283
Publication Date: 2014

The Study of Orchestration by Samuel Adler
Call Number: 781.374 A237 - Reserve Section
ISBN: 9780393975727
Publication Date: 2002
The Modern Conductor by Elizabeth A. H. Green; Mark Gibson
Call Number: 781.45 G795
ISBN: 9780131826564
Publication Date: 2003-12-29
Directing the Choral Music Program by Kenneth H. Phillips
Call Number: 782.5071 P558
ISBN: 9780195132823
Publication Date: 2003-09-04
Choral Concepts by Donald Neuen
Call Number: R 782.5145 N481
ISBN: 9780028647494
Publication Date: 2002-02-08
The Technique of Orchestration by Kent Kennan; Donald Grantham
Call Number: 781.374 K34
ISBN: 9780130407719
Publication Date: 2001-11-26

Music Therapy: An Art Beyond Words by Leslie Bunt; Brynjulf Stige
Call Number: 615.8515 B942
ISBN: 9780415450683
Publication Date: 2014
Group Music Therapy by Alison Davies; Eleanor Richards; Nick Barwick
Call Number: 615.8515 D255
ISBN: 9780415665926
Publication Date: 2014
Music Therapy Handbook by Barbara L. Wheeler (Editor)
Call Number: 615.8515 M987
ISBN: 9781462529728
Publication Date: 2016-11-02
Creative Interventions with Traumatized Children by Cathy A. Malchiodi (Editor)
Call Number: 618.9285 C912
ISBN: 9781462518166
Publication Date: 2014

Music and Ministry by Calvin M. Johansson
Call Number: 780.7 J65
ISBN: 9781565633612
Publication Date: 1998

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering almost any topic.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Over 70,000 titles spanning all subjects, curated for the educational experience.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical information for over 5,200 people across all areas of life.
College in Context This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of resources covering all basic topics frequently encountered in college. Contains full text access to The Economist, The New York Times, and Newsweek.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Replaces EBSCO eBook Collections and Credo Reference.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window

Checking Out & Downloading EBSCO eBooks
Detailed instructions on how to check out and download EBSCO eBooks.

General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering almost all topics.