ENG1113 Composition & Rhetoric I
A course guide for students enrolled in ENG113 Composition & Rhetoric I at Southwestern Assemblies of God University in Waxahachie, Texas.
Collection Development Librarian
ENG1113 Composition & Rhetoric I Course Guide
Course Description
A review of the principles of English grammar. Various rhetorical genres of composition are studied and practiced. Parallel readings of professional and student writers are required. Vocabulary development is required.
Textbooks
Writing Matters: a Handbook for Writing and Research (Comprehensive Edition with Exercises) by Call Number: (RSV GEORGE) 808.042 H8481 WISBN: 9781260860306Publication Date: 2022One copy, located in Reserve area near circulation desk.
The Screwtape Letters (eBook) by ISBN: 9780060652937Publication Date: 2015Licensed for one user at a time
The Screwtape Letters (audiobook) by ISBN: 9780062243737Publication Date: 2012Licensed for one user at a time
The Screwtape Letters (CD audiobook) by Call Number: CD 823.912 L673ISBN: 9781589973244Publication Date: 2009Located near the circulation desk in the Nelson Memorial Library
The Screwtape Letters by Call Number: 248.4 L673ISBN: 9780684831176Publication Date: 1996Three copies
Databases
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Gale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues.
Books
Miss Myrtle Frag, the Grammar Nag by Call Number: 428.2 B155ISBN: 9781888842197Publication Date: 2000
Grammar & Writing Help
- OWL Purdue - GrammarThese OWL resources will help you use correct grammar in your writing. This area includes resources on grammar topics, such as count and noncount nouns, articles (a versus an), subject-verb agreement, and prepositions. Includes grammar exercises.
- OWL Purdue - WritingThese OWL resources will help you with the writing process: pre-writing (invention), developing research questions and outlines, composing thesis statements, and proofreading. While the writing process may be different for each person and for each particular assignment, the resources contained in this section follow the general work flow of pre-writing, organizing, and revising.