HIS1123 American History II: Resources

Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Digitized historical documents; some full-text; many free. For best use, check out ThoughtCo.'s helpful article: https://www.thoughtco.com/search-tips-for-google-news-archive-1422213

Brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States.

The Handbook of Texas Online is a project of the Texas State Historical Association. The online Handbook offers a full-text searchable version of the complete text of the six-volume print edition, all corrections incorporated in the second printing, and approximately 400 articles not included in the print edition due to space limitations. Subsequent developments will include additional corrections and updates, new articles, illustrations, and audio-video media. The Handbook of Texas Online was officially released on February 15th, 1999.

The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. An important benefit of the Military Database is its content diversity. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

Brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.

A visual expression of history. Produced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.